Justin A. Reynolds

Print
Go Back

GZLA

OPPOSITE OF ALWAYS

March 2019, Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins, 464 pp

Debut author Justin A. Reynolds delivers a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he’s falling—hard. But then Kate dies. And their story should end there.

Yet Kate’s death sends Jack time-traveling back to the moment they first meet, and Kate’s there again, healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn’t sure if he’s losing his mind. But if he has a chance to prevent Kate’s death, he’ll take it. Jack soon learns that his actions are not without consequences and when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he’s willing to do to save the people he loves.

STARRED REVIEWS

SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL – “This is a love story about friendship with a “choose your own adventure” twist.”

BOOKLIST – “…this charming, wry novel packed with witty, crackling banter is propulsively readable.”

ACCOLADES

  • Spring 2019 ABA Indies Introduce pick

INTERNATIONAL RIGHTS

ArabicAser-Elkotob
ChineseBeijing White Horse
CzechAlbatros
DutchHarperCollins
FrenchPocket Jeunesse
GermanCarlsen
GreekPsichogios
HungarianKönyvmolyképző
ItalianEdizioni Piemme
PolishZysk
Portuguese/BrazilNovo Conceito
Portuguese/WorldPresenca
RomanianEpica
RussianAST
SerbianPublik
SlovakAlbatros
SpanishMontena/Penguin Random House Spain
TaiwanDelight Press
TurkishPegasus
UKMacmillan UK (rights sold by Gemma Cooper at the Bent Agency)

DRAMATIC RIGHTS

Represented by Dana Spector at CAA and optioned by Paramount Players

NOTE: Digital comic book rights sold to Webtoons (via Publisher). Audio exploited with Publisher.


Beth Phelan


Young Adult


Contemporary

Humor

Romance

Speculative


Translation