Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Ellen Oh

YOU ARE HERE

Winter 2023, Allida/HarperCollins, 272 pp

An incident at a TSA security check point sows chaos and rumors, creating a chain of events that impacts twelve young Asian Americans in a crowded and restless airport. As their disrupted journeys cri...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

THE INFINITY ALCHEMIST

Winter 2024, Tor Teen/Macmillan, TBD pp

Ash Woods isn’t supposed to perform alchemy. Only students or those with a license—usually the wealthy elite—are legally permitted to use alchemy in the state of New England. But when he’s rejected by...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Justin A. Reynolds

HOUSE PARTY

Winter 2023, Joy Revolution/Random House, TBD pp

Welcome to HOUSE PARTY. The biggest event of the year is happening tonight, and you’re invited! Join us for Florence Hills High seniors’ last hurrah before graduation. Over a few wild, transformativ...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

VIVIAN LANTZ' SECOND CHANCES

May 2023, HarperCollins, TBD pp

Vivian Lantz is cursed. Every year, terrible things happen on her first day of school—and her first day of eighth grade makes the rest of them look like child’s play. Her family’s house floods in a su...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Camryn Garrett

OFF THE RECORD

May 2021, Knopf/Random House, 320 pp

Ever since seventeen-year-old Josie Wright can remember, writing has been her identity, the thing that grounds her when everything else is a garbage fire. So when she wins a contest to write a celebri...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Camryn Garrett

FULL DISCLOSURE

December 2020, Knopf/Random House, 320 pp

Simone Garcia-Hampton is absolutely positive that having a crush is more dangerous than having HIV; after all, she’s got her viral load under control. Simone knows that her status isn’t a death senten...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Camryn Garrett

FRIDAY I'M IN LOVE

January 2023, Knopf/Random House, 288 pp

A love letter to romantic comedies, sweet sixteen blowouts, black joy and queer pride—this is a novel about finding yourself, falling in love, and celebrating what makes you you. Sixteen-year-old Mah...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Lin Thompson

THE HOUSE THAT WHISPERS

Winter 2023, Little, Brown, 366 pp

From the author of The Best Liars in Riverview comes a subtle exploration of gender identity, family, and the personal ghosts that haunt us all, perfect for fans of Kyle Lukoff and Ashley Herring Blak...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Shveta Thakrar

THE DREAM RUNNERS

June 2022, HarperTeen/HarperCollins, 431 pp

Seven years ago, Tanvi was spirited away to the subterranean realm of Nagalok, where she joined the ranks of the dream runners: human children freed of all memory and emotion, charged with harvesting ...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

LARK AND KASIM START A REVOLUTION

September 2022, Abrams, 336 pp

From National Book Award–winner Kacen Callender, a contemporary YA that follows Lark's journey to speak the truth and discover how their own self-love can be a revolution Lark Winters wants to be a w...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

MOONFLOWER

September 2022, Scholastic, 272 pp

The award-winning author of Hurricane Child and King and the Dragonflies brings another unflinching story of identity and hope to young readers. Every night, twelve-year-old Moon leaves for the spiri...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Lin Thompson

The Best Liars in Riverview

March 2022, Little, Brown/Hachette, 336 pp

In the woods of a small Kentucky town, Aubrey sets off on a journey about growing up, self-discovery, and acceptance while searching for their missing best friend—perfect for fans of KING AND THE DRAG...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Mimi Yu

Empress of Flames

August 2021, Gollancz/Hachette UK, 496 pp

As the late-Emperor's first-born, Princess Lu knows the throne rightfully belongs to her. She also can't forget her promise to shapeshifter Nok, the boy she loves, to win justice for his now powerless...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

The House in Poplar Wood

August 2018, Chronicle Books, 344 pp

Simultaneously heartwarming and delightfully spooky, The House in Poplar Wood is a story about a boy's desire to be free, a girl's desire to make a difference, and a family's desire to be together aga...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

CANDIDLY CLINE

November 2021, HarperCollins, 320pp

Born in Paris, Kentucky and raised on her Gram’s favorite country music, Cline dreams of making it big with her own songs—even if her mother has always told her that music won’t pay the bills. So whe...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kat Cho

VICIOUS SPIRITS

August 2020, Putnam/Penguin, 416 pp

Miyoung and Jihoon are picking up the pieces of their broken lives following the deaths of Miyoung’s mother, Yena, and Jihoon’s grandmother. The events at the end of Wicked Fox have upended the forces...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kat Cho

WICKED FOX

June 2019, Putnam/Penguin, 448 pp

An addictive fantasy-romance set in modern-day Seoul. Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a nine-tailed fox who must devour the energy of men in order to survive. Because so fe...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Justin A. Reynolds

OPPOSITE OF ALWAYS

March 2019, Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins, 464 pp

Debut author Justin A. Reynolds delivers a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yo...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

LUCKY FEW

June 2016, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp

A quirky black comedy about oddball teens facing mortality. Focused on strong friendships and madcap adventures, this is a John Hughes movie in novel form. The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets a...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

TASH HEARTS TOLSTOY

June 2017, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp

A refreshing LGBTQ+ coming-of-age novel about Internet fame, peer pressure, and YouTube. After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka suddenly finds herself...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

THE GREAT UNKNOWABLE END

February 2019, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 400 pp

A humorous, lightly speculative novel for fans of “Welcome to Nightvale” with points of view from two teens with opposing beliefs who come together at what might be the end of the world in a small Ame...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

THE SULLIVAN SISTERS

May 2020, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp

For readers who were riveted by mysteries like SADIE by Courtney Summers and TWO CAN KEEP A SECRET by Karen McManus. The Sullivan Sisters used to be close, sharing secrets inside homemade blanket cas...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

THE BEAUTY THAT REMAINS

March 2018, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 336 pp

Autumn always knew exactly who she was: a talented artist and a loyal friend. Shay was defined by two things: her bond with her twin sister and her love of music. And Logan has always turned to writin...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

FLYY GIRLS

TOBYN: THE IT GIRL

Book 4 - August 2021, Penguin Workshop/Penguin, 144 pp

Meet the Flyy Girls. The group of girls who seem like they can get away with anything. Veteran author Ashley Woodfolk pens a gorgeous and dynamic series about four Harlem highschoolers, each facing a ...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Randy Ribay

PATRON SAINTS OF NOTHING

June 2019, Kokila/Penguin Random House, 304 pp

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder. Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Mimi Yu

THE GIRL KING

January 2019, Bloomsbury Children’s, 432 pp

With three revolving points-of-view, this diverse, epic, richly-imagined Asian fantasy is set against a world of ancient magic and political intrigue. Assertive Lu has always expected to be named her...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Shveta Thakrar

STAR DAUGHTER

August 2020, Harperteen/HarperCollins, 448 pp

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Her mother returned to the constellation Pushya when Sheetal was just a child, and since then, Sheetal has hidden her true iden...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Justin A. Reynolds

EARLY DEPARTURES

September 2020, Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins, 320 pp

Jamal’s best friend Q does not know he’s about to die . . . again. He also doesn’t know that Jamal tried to save his life, rescuing him from drowning only to watch Q die in the hospital. Even more co...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

HURRICANE CHILD

March 2018, Scholastic, 224 pp

A lyrical, debut middle grade novel with a touch of magical realism and LGBTQ+ themes, about first friendship, first love, and finding self-acceptance. 12-year-old Caroline Murphy is a Hurricane Chil...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

THIS IS KIND OF AN EPIC LOVE STORY

October 2018, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins, 304 pp

A fluffy romantic comedy that plays with the friends-to-lovers and second-chance tropes featuring diverse LBGTQ+ teens. Nathan Bird is a film buff, but he’s a firm disbeliever in real-life happy endi...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

KING AND THE DRAGONFLIES

February 2020, Scholastic, 272 pp

From the Stonewall and Lambda Book Award-winning author of Hurricane Child comes a novel about loss, grief, and finding the courage to discover one’s identity. Twelve-year-old Kingston James is sure ...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

FELIX EVER AFTER

May 2020, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins, 368 pp

From Stonewall and Lambda Literary Award-winning author Kacen Callender comes a poignant story of identity and self-discovery, layered with romance. Felix Love has never been in love, and he’s painfu...