Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Emery Lee

MEET CUTE DIARY

May 2021, Quill Tree/HarperCollins, TBD pp

In this YA romance that's FRANKLY IN LOVE meets FELIX EVER AFTER, Noah's the master of romance tropes until an internet troll forces him to write a real-life happily ever after. Noah is behind the po...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

CANDIDLY CLINE

Fall 2021, HarperCollins, TBD pp

Dumplin' meets Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World, CANDIDLY CLINE is a heartfelt MG Contemporary about one girl’s attempt to find her voice through all the changes, challenges, and heart-thumping crus...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kat Cho

VICIOUS SPIRITS

August 2020, Putnam/Penguin, 416 pp

Miyoung and Jihoon are picking up the pieces of their broken lives following the deaths of Miyoung’s mother, Yena, and Jihoon’s grandmother. The events at the end of Wicked Fox have upended the forces...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kat Cho

WICKED FOX

June 2019, Putnam/Penguin, 448 pp

An addictive fantasy-romance set in modern-day Seoul. Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a nine-tailed fox who must devour the energy of men in order to survive. Because so fe...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Justin A. Reynolds

OPPOSITE OF ALWAYS

March 2019, Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins, 464 pp

Debut author Justin A. Reynolds delivers a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yo...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

LUCKY FEW

June 2016, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp)

A quirky black comedy about oddball teens facing mortality. Focused on strong friendships and madcap adventures, this is a John Hughes movie in novel form. The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets a...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

TASH HEARTS TOLSTOY

June 2017, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp

A refreshing LGBTQ+ coming-of-age novel about Internet fame, peer pressure, and YouTube. After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka suddenly finds herself...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

THE GREAT UNKNOWABLE END

February 2019, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 400 pp

A humorous, lightly speculative novel for fans of “Welcome to Nightvale” with points of view from two teens with opposing beliefs who come together at what might be the end of the world in a small Ame...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

THE SULLIVAN SISTERS

May 2020, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp

For readers who were riveted by mysteries like SADIE by Courtney Summers and TWO CAN KEEP A SECRET by Karen McManus. The Sullivan Sisters used to be close, sharing secrets inside homemade blanket cas...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

THE BEAUTY THAT REMAINS

March 2018, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 336 pp

Autumn always knew exactly who she was: a talented artist and a loyal friend. Shay was defined by two things: her bond with her twin sister and her love of music. And Logan has always turned to writin...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

FLYY GIRLS

TOBYN: THE IT GIRL

Book 4 - August 2021, Penguin Workshop/Penguin, 144 pp

Meet the Flyy Girls. The group of girls who seem like they can get away with anything. Veteran author Ashley Woodfolk pens a gorgeous and dynamic series about four Harlem highschoolers, each facing a ...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

MICAH: THE GOOD GIRL

September 2020, Penguin Workshop/Penguin, 144 pp

Micah Dupree had always liked being the “good girl.” She was happy painting, going to church, and acing her school projects. After all, she had a perfect older brother to live up to. But when he unexp...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Randy Ribay

PATRON SAINTS OF NOTHING

June 2019, Kokila/Penguin Random House, 304 pp

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder. Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Mimi Yu

THE GIRL KING

January 2019, Bloomsbury Children’s, 432 pp

With three revolving points-of-view, this diverse, epic, richly-imagined Asian fantasy is set against a world of ancient magic and political intrigue. Assertive Lu has always expected to be named her...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Shveta Thakrar

STAR DAUGHTER

August 2020, Harperteen/HarperCollins, 448 pp

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Her mother returned to the constellation Pushya when Sheetal was just a child, and since then, Sheetal has hidden her true iden...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Justin A. Reynolds

EARLY DEPARTURES

September 2020, Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins, 320 pp

Jamal’s best friend Q does not know he’s about to die . . . again. He also doesn’t know that Jamal tried to save his life, rescuing him from drowning only to watch Q die in the hospital. Even more co...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Janel Kolby

WINTERFOLK

February 2018, HarperTeen/HarperCollins, 320 pp

A modern-day fairytale, gritty and lyrical, this is a debut about a young homeless girl who ventures into the city for the first time since childhood in order to save her community. For as long as sh...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

HURRICANE CHILD

March 2018, Scholastic, 224 pp

A lyrical, debut middle grade novel with a touch of magical realism and LGBTQ+ themes, about first friendship, first love, and finding self-acceptance. 12-year-old Caroline Murphy is a Hurricane Chil...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

THIS IS KIND OF AN EPIC LOVE STORY

October 2018, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins, 304 pp

A fluffy romantic comedy that plays with the friends-to-lovers and second-chance tropes featuring diverse LBGTQ+ teens. Nathan Bird is a film buff, but he’s a firm disbeliever in real-life happy endi...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

KING AND THE DRAGONFLIES

February 2020, Scholastic, 272 pp

From the Stonewall and Lambda Book Award-winning author of Hurricane Child comes a novel about loss, grief, and finding the courage to discover one’s identity. Twelve-year-old Kingston James is sure ...

Sorted By: Beth Phelan

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

FELIX EVER AFTER

May 2020, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins, 368 pp

From Stonewall and Lambda Literary Award-winning author Kacen Callender comes a poignant story of identity and self-discovery, layered with romance. Felix Love has never been in love, and he’s painfu...