Sorted By: Social Justice

Go Back

GZLA

Daria Peoples-Riley

AMERICA, MY LOVE, AMERICA, MY HEART

April 2021, Greenwillow/HarperCollins, 40pp

America, do you love me? My black. My brown. My pride. My crown. Acclaimed author-artist Daria Peoples-Riley invites readers to answer timely—and timeless—questions beating inside the hearts of child...

Sorted By: Social Justice

Go Back

GZLA

Dana Alison Levy

THIS WOULD MAKE A GOOD STORY SOMEDAY

Spring 2017, Penguin Random House, 260 pp

Fans of Dan Santat’s Are We There Yet and Geoff Rodkey’s The Tapper Twins will enjoy this cross-country train trip of a middle grade novel. Twelve-year-old Sara loves her family, but she’s less than t...

Sorted By: Social Justice

Go Back

GZLA

Dana Alison Levy

IT WASN’T ME

November 2018, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 336 pp

The Breakfast Club meets middle school in this story of six 12-year-old students — five potential perpetrators and Theo, one seriously annoyed victim — forced to spend vacation week together in school...

Sorted By: Social Justice

Go Back

GZLA

Aida Salazar

LAND OF THE CRANES

September 2020, Arthur A. Levine Books/Scholastic, 256 pp

This free verse middle grade novel, inspired in part by the author’s own childhood as an undocumented immigrant, tells the story of 9-year-old Betita, who believes that she and other migrants follow a...

Sorted By: Social Justice

Go Back

GZLA

Randy Ribay

PATRON SAINTS OF NOTHING

June 2019, Kokila/Penguin Random House, 304 pp

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder. Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his...