Dana Alison Levy

Print
Go Back

GZLA

ABOVE ALL ELSE

April 2020, Charlesbridge, TBD pp

Into Thin Air meets The Sun is Also a Star in this tale of two teens who trained their whole lives to summit Mount Everest. High school seniors and best friends Rose and Tate have always climbed together, and it’s finally time for the grand prize, Everest. But amid the stunning vistas and high peaks of the Himalayas they find their relationship changing, and they must discover what they owe each other, themselves, and the mountain they pledged to climb. The drama of high-stakes climbing and the emotions of first love intersect in this gripping dual point-of-view novel, which touches on issues from family dynamics to PTSD, the ethics of tourism to our changing climate. Rose and Tate confront their feelings about each other, the life and death risks on the mountain, and the question of who—or what—they value above all else.


Marietta Zacker


Young Adult


Adventure

Contemporary

Romance

Sports

Suspense


Dramatic

Translation

UK


GZLA

IT WASN’T ME

November 2018, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 336 pp

The Breakfast Club meets middle school in this story of six 12-year-old students — five potential perpetrators and Theo, one seriously annoyed victim — forced to spend vacation week together in school after a vandalism incident. Told mostly in Theo’s first person narrative, the story evolves into a compelling whodunit, even as it asks the question: what lies behind the labels we wear? Readers will get caught up in the humorous antics while educators will appreciate ties to restorative justice practices and important conversations about the roles of victims, perpetrators, bystanders and upstanders.

STARRED REVIEWS

KIRKUS – “A timely, introspective whodunit with a lot of heart.”

SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL – “Laugh-out-loud humor…This is an engaging read with quirky, likable characters with whom tweens will identify. A good purchase for any collection serving middle schoolers.”

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY – “A story about six kids who find their way to true friendship and fierce loyalty, and why restorative justice is worth the time and effort it takes.”

ACCOLADES

Chosen as one of Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2018

NOTE: English Audio rights sold to Listening Library.


Marietta Zacker


Middle Grade


Art

Contemporary

Diverse

Friendship

Humor

Mystery

Social Justice


Audio

Dramatic

Translation

UK


GZLA

THIS WOULD MAKE A GOOD STORY SOMEDAY

Spring 2017, Penguin Random House, 260 pp

Fans of Dan Santat’s Are We There Yet and Geoff Rodkey’s The Tapper Twins will enjoy this cross-country train trip of a middle grade novel. Twelve-year-old Sara loves her family, but she’s less than thrilled when her summer plans are upended for a family train trip across the country with her two moms, her wild younger sister Ladybug, her older sister Laurel, and Laurel’s activist boyfriend. New friends aboard the train cause Sara to re-examine her goals as she gets ready to enter middle school. At turns slapstick and heart-wrenching, this story deals with the way we change our thinking when we change the landscape around us. Told through journal entries, postcards, notes, and emails, it offers great tie-in opportunities for US geography lessons.

STARRED REVIEWS

BOOKLIST – “Levy doesn’t shy away from looking at tough topics through Sara’s eyes. . . The novel features plenty of family drama and silliness. . . its engaging main character makes it a truly memorable read.

NOTE: English Audio rights sold to Listening Library.


Marietta Zacker


Middle Grade


Activism

Contemporary

Diverse

Family

Friendship

LGBTQIA+

Realistic

Social Justice


Audio

Dramatic

Translation

UK


GZLA

THE FAMILY FLETCHER TAKES ROCK ISLAND

May 2016, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 272 pp

Fans of The Penderwicks and other summer tales will enjoy this stand-alone companion novel to the acclaimed Misadventures of the Family Fletcher. Set on a fictional New England island, the boys, ages 7-13, are unhappy to find that much has changed on the island “where time stands still.” New kids next door, the chance to be in a play, and the pending destruction of their beloved lighthouse conspire to make it a summer unlike any other. Touching on issues as far ranging as Shakespeare’s plays to sea life and gender assumptions to racial stereotyping, this funny and touching middle grade novel offers laughs and life lessons.

NOTE: English Audio rights sold to Listening Library


Marietta Zacker


Middle Grade


Contemporary

Diverse

Family

Friendship

Humor

LGBTQIA+

Realistic


Audio

Dramatic

Translation

UK


GZLA

THE MISADVENTURES OF THE FAMILY FLETCHER

July 2014, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 260 pp

Modern Family meets modern classics like Beverly Cleary’s Quimbys and Judy Blume’s Hatchers in this heartwarming and hilarious middle grade novel. Four adopted brothers, two dads, and an ever-changing number of pets face the start of a school year full of excitement and challenges. This gentle and entertaining story works as a read-aloud or is a great introduction to independent reading.

STARRED REVIEWS

SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL – “Although the tone is never preachy, the brothers nevertheless learn over the course of the year that identities can expand, friendships can evolve, and making mistakes is okay. With its semi-episodic structure, laugh-out-loud humor, and mix of zaniness and love, Levy’s debut offers something truly significant: a middle-grade family story featuring gay parents and interracial families that is never about either issue.”

KIRKUS – “An old-fashioned summer adventure set in a very modern world, this lively family tale will leave readers impatient for more.”

INTERNATIONAL RIGHTS

FrenchEditions Milan
Germancbt/Penguin Random House
ItalianEDT SRL

NOTE: English Audio rights sold to Listening Library.


Marietta Zacker


Middle Grade


Adoption

Contemporary

Diverse

Family

Friendship

Humor

LGBTQIA+

Realistic

School


Audio

Dramatic

Translation

UK