Dana Alison Levy

Print
Go Back

GZLA

THIS WOULD MAKE A GOOD STORY SOMEDAY

Spring 2017, Penguin Random House, 260 pp

Fans of Dan Santat’s Are We There Yet and Geoff Rodkey’s The Tapper Twins will enjoy this cross-country train trip of a middle grade novel. Twelve-year-old Sara loves her family, but she’s less than thrilled when her summer plans are upended for a family train trip across the country with her two moms, her wild younger sister Ladybug, her older sister Laurel, and Laurel’s activist boyfriend. New friends aboard the train cause Sara to re-examine her goals as she gets ready to enter middle school. At turns slapstick and heart-wrenching, this story deals with the way we change our thinking when we change the landscape around us. Told through journal entries, postcards, notes, and emails, it offers great tie-in opportunities for US geography lessons.

STARRED REVIEWS

BOOKLIST – “Levy doesn’t shy away from looking at tough topics through Sara’s eyes. . . The novel features plenty of family drama and silliness. . . its engaging main character makes it a truly memorable read.

NOTE: English Audio rights sold to Listening Library.


Marietta Zacker


Middle Grade


Activism

Contemporary

Diverse

Family

Friendship

LGBTQIA+

Realistic

Social Justice


Audio

Dramatic

Translation

UK