Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Alexis Castellanos

ISLA TO ISLAND

March 2022, Atheneum/S&S, 192 pp

A wordless middle grade graphic novel following a girl growing up in 1960s Cuba and New York City. Marisol loves her colorful island. Cuba is vibrant with flowers and food and people… but things are ...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Mimi Yu

Empress of Flames

August 2021, Gollancz/Hachette UK, 496 pp

As the late-Emperor's first-born, Princess Lu knows the throne rightfully belongs to her. She also can't forget her promise to shapeshifter Nok, the boy she loves, to win justice for his now powerless...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

The House in Poplar Wood

August 2018, Chronicle Books, 344 pp

Simultaneously heartwarming and delightfully spooky, The House in Poplar Wood is a story about a boy's desire to be free, a girl's desire to make a difference, and a family's desire to be together aga...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Madeline McGrane

THE ACCURSED VAMPIRE

July 2021, HarperCollins, 176pp

A spooky and funny graphic novel debut that’s perfect for fans of Molly Knox Ostertag’s THE WITCH BOY and Kristen Gudsnuk’s MAKING FRIENDS. Dragoslava is a vampire kid. And that’s not even the worst ...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

CANDIDLY CLINE

November 2021, HarperCollins, 320pp

Born in Paris, Kentucky and raised on her Gram’s favorite country music, Cline dreams of making it big with her own songs—even if her mother has always told her that music won’t pay the bills. So whe...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Wendy Xu

TIDESONG

November 2021, HarperCollins, 240pp

An ambitious 12-year-old moves to a seaside town for an apprenticeship in magic with her aunts and realizes that it may be more than she bargained for....

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Suzanne Weyn

THIEF EYES

Spring 2010, Random House, 272 pp

After her mother mysteriously disappears, sixteen-year-old Haley convinces her father to take her to Iceland, where her mother was last seen. There, amidst the ancient fissures and crevices of that vo...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Ben Clanton

ROT: THE BRAVEST IN THE WORLD

June 2020, Simon & Schuster, 32 pp

In this second Rot book, we meet Rot’s big brother Snot, who is a bit of snot to poor Rot. He’s made up a creature called the Squirm that has Rot feeling super scared. But with the help of a cape, bro...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Suzanne Weyn

THE BAR CODE PROPHECY

October 2013, Scholastic, 208 pp

The third book in the Bar Code series, in which one girl struggles to escape the conformity of a dystopian world. Grace lives a normal life. She goes to school during the day and works part-time at th...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Suzanne Weyn

DR. FRANKENSTEIN’S DAUGHTERS

January 2013, Scholastic, 250 pp

Giselle and Ingrid are the twin daughters of Doctor Victor Frankenstein, but they are very different people, and when they inherit his castle in the Orkney Islands, Giselle dreams of holding parties a...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Hilary Wagner

NIGHTSHADE CHRONICLES

LORDS OF TRILLIUM

Book 3 – March 2014, Holiday House, 250 pp

Deep beneath a modern metropolis lies the Catacombs, a kingdom of remarkable rats of superior intellect. Following the Bloody Coup, the once peaceful democracy has become a dictatorship, ruled by deca...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Janni Lee Simner

BONES OF FAERIE SERIES

FAERIE AFTER

Book 3 – May 2013, Random House, 272 pp

Janni Lee Simner’s young adult novels are a dark fairy-tale twist on apocalyptic fiction, as familiar as a nightmare, yet altogether unique. The three books in the Bones of Faerie series take readers...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

THE GREAT UNKNOWABLE END

February 2019, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 400 pp

A humorous, lightly speculative novel for fans of “Welcome to Nightvale” with points of view from two teens with opposing beliefs who come together at what might be the end of the world in a small Ame...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

THE SULLIVAN SISTERS

May 2020, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp

For readers who were riveted by mysteries like SADIE by Courtney Summers and TWO CAN KEEP A SECRET by Karen McManus. The Sullivan Sisters used to be close, sharing secrets inside homemade blanket cas...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Dana Alison Levy

THE MISADVENTURES OF THE FAMILY FLETCHER

July 2014, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 260 pp

Modern Family meets modern classics like Beverly Cleary’s Quimbys and Judy Blume’s Hatchers in this heartwarming and hilarious middle grade novel. Four adopted brothers, two dads, and an ever-changing...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Dana Alison Levy

THE FAMILY FLETCHER TAKES ROCK ISLAND

May 2016, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 272 pp

Fans of The Penderwicks and other summer tales will enjoy this stand-alone companion novel to the acclaimed Misadventures of the Family Fletcher. Set on a fictional New England island, the boys, ages ...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Dana Alison Levy

THIS WOULD MAKE A GOOD STORY SOMEDAY

Spring 2017, Penguin Random House, 260 pp

Fans of Dan Santat’s Are We There Yet and Geoff Rodkey’s The Tapper Twins will enjoy this cross-country train trip of a middle grade novel. Twelve-year-old Sara loves her family, but she’s less than t...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Randy Ribay

PATRON SAINTS OF NOTHING

June 2019, Kokila/Penguin Random House, 304 pp

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder. Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Mimi Yu

THE GIRL KING

January 2019, Bloomsbury Children’s, 432 pp

With three revolving points-of-view, this diverse, epic, richly-imagined Asian fantasy is set against a world of ancient magic and political intrigue. Assertive Lu has always expected to be named her...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Justin A. Reynolds

EARLY DEPARTURES

September 2020, Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins, 320 pp

Jamal’s best friend Q does not know he’s about to die . . . again. He also doesn’t know that Jamal tried to save his life, rescuing him from drowning only to watch Q die in the hospital. Even more co...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Kelly Quindlen

LATE TO THE PARTY

April 2020, Roaring Brook/Macmillan, 304 pp

A story of friendship and first love, featuring a diverse cast of LGBTQ+ characters. Codi wants to score her first kiss—with a girl—but she may have to expand her social world first. Can she fall in ...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Amparo Ortiz

BLAZEWRATH GAMES

October 2020, Page Street Kids, 368 pp

Lana Torres has always preferred dragons to people. In a few weeks, sixteen countries will compete in the Blazewrath World Cup, a tournament where dragons and their riders fight for glory in a dangero...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Megan Jean Sovern

THE MEANING OF MAGGIE

May 2014, Chronicle, 220 pp

Twelve-year-old Maggie lives in a house too small for all the big problems plaguing a shy girl just trying to survive adolescence armed with Little Debbies and deep thoughts. When her father’s legs p...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Josanne La Valley

THE VINE BASKET

April 2013, Clarion/HMH, 256 pp

Things aren’t looking good for fourteen-year-old Mehrigul. She yearns to be in school, but she’s needed on the family farm. The longer she’s out of school, the more likely it is that she’ll be sent of...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Josanne La Valley

FACTORY GIRL

January 2017, Clarion/HMH, 256 pp

In order to save her family’s farm, Roshen, sixteen, must leave her rural home to work in a factory in the south of China. There she finds arduous and degrading conditions and contempt for her minorit...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Stephanie Greene

SOPHIE HARTLEY SERIES

SOPHIE HARTLEY AND THE FACTS OF LIFE

Book 4 – November 2013, Clarion/HMH, 144 pp

The indomitable, quirky, passionate Sophie faces challenges and challengers with determination and resourcefulness. She does so with down-to-earth, realistic, humorous take on friendships and family r...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Cynthia Leonor Garza

LUCÍA THE LUCHADORA AND THE MILLION MASKS

October 2018, POW!, 32 pp

A splendiferous sisterhood adventure in the follow-up to Lucía the Luchadora. Lucía’s little sister Gemma wants to be a luchadora too, but she seems to find trouble wherever she goes. When Gemma makes...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Mary E. Lambert

FAMILY GAME NIGHT AND OTHER CATASTROPHES

February 2017, Scholastic, 256 pp

A novel about throwing things out -- and letting people in. Annabelle has a secret so big she won’t allow friends within five miles of her home. Her mom collects things. Their house is overflowing wi...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Kat Fajardo

MISS QUINCES

Spring 2022, Graphix/Scholastic, 180 pp

A coming-of-age middle grade graphic novel about a girl forced to celebrate her quinceañera despite hating all things pretty and pink. Suyapa “Sue” Gutierrez was planning a fun summer at camp with he...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Mike Dutton

FOOD TRUCK FEST!

March 2018, Macmillan/FSG, 40 pp

The rhyming story follows a fleet of food trucks as they get ready for the biggest and best day of the year – the food truck fest....

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Sophie Blackall

CROWS OF PEARLBLOSSOM

March 2011, Abrams, 40 pp

This funny story of cleverness triumphing over greed, similar in tone and wit to the work of A.A. Milne, shows a new side of a great writer. Paired with stunning illustrations by Sophie Blackall, this...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Tameka Fryer Brown

BROWN BABY LULLABY

Winter 2020, Farrar, Straus, and Giroux/Macmillan, TBD pp

A beautifully illustrated portrayal of parental love in a family of color. When the sun sets, it’s time for Momma, Papi, and their tired toddler to begin the evening’s routine, which includes clangin...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Victoria J. Coe

FENWAY AND HATTIE SERIES

FENWAY AND HATTIE IN THE WILD

Book 4 – May 2019, Putnam/Penguin Random House, 176 pp

In the fourth book in this adorable middle-grade series, all told from the dog’s point of view, Fenway gets a taste of the wild when he goes on a back-to-school camping trip with his human, Hattie. Th...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

HURRICANE CHILD

March 2018, Scholastic, 224 pp

A lyrical, debut middle grade novel with a touch of magical realism and LGBTQ+ themes, about first friendship, first love, and finding self-acceptance. 12-year-old Caroline Murphy is a Hurricane Chil...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

KING AND THE DRAGONFLIES

February 2020, Scholastic, 272 pp

From the Stonewall and Lambda Book Award-winning author of Hurricane Child comes a novel about loss, grief, and finding the courage to discover one’s identity. Twelve-year-old Kingston James is sure ...

Sorted By: Family

Go Back

GZLA

Shakirah Bourne

JOSEPHINE AGAINST THE SEA

July 2021, Scholastic, 304 pp

The Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste meets R.L.Stine’s The Girl Who Cried Monster. 11 year-old Jo discovers that her Dad’s new girlfriend is a powerful sea creature and has to convince everyone of the woma...