Sorted By: Activism

Go Back

GZLA

Sarah Dvojack

ROSIE THE RIVETER

Fall 2021, Imprint/Macmillan, TBD pp

A picture book illustrating how the iconic image of Rosie the Riveter has evolved and inspired generations of women to make history....

Sorted By: Activism

Go Back

GZLA

Ben Clanton

VOTE FOR ME!

February 2020, Tundra/Penguin Random House Canada, 32 pp

Donkey and Elephant both want YOUR vote and will do just about anything to get it. Soon their efforts devolve into literal mud-slinging. Can they clean up their campaigns or will a third candidate (Mo...

Sorted By: Activism

Go Back

GZLA

Dana Alison Levy

THIS WOULD MAKE A GOOD STORY SOMEDAY

Spring 2017, Penguin Random House, 260 pp

Fans of Dan Santat’s Are We There Yet and Geoff Rodkey’s The Tapper Twins will enjoy this cross-country train trip of a middle grade novel. Twelve-year-old Sara loves her family, but she’s less than t...

Sorted By: Activism

Go Back

GZLA

Aida Salazar

LAND OF THE CRANES

September 2020, Arthur A. Levine Books/Scholastic, 256 pp

This free verse middle grade novel, inspired in part by the author’s own childhood as an undocumented immigrant, tells the story of 9-year-old Betita, who believes that she and other migrants follow a...

Sorted By: Activism

Go Back

GZLA

Randi Pink

ANGEL OF GREENWOOD

January 2021, Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan, 304pp

ANGEL OF GREENWOOD is a historical fiction novel set in the Tulsa, Oklahoma neighborhood of Greenwood, affectionately known as Black Wall Street, in which sixteen-year-old Angel and seventeen-year-old...

Sorted By: Activism

Go Back

GZLA

Randy Ribay

PATRON SAINTS OF NOTHING

June 2019, Kokila/Penguin Random House, 304 pp

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder. Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his...

Sorted By: Activism

Go Back

GZLA

Josanne La Valley

FACTORY GIRL

January 2017, Clarion/HMH, 256 pp

In order to save her family’s farm, Roshen, sixteen, must leave her rural home to work in a factory in the south of China. There she finds arduous and degrading conditions and contempt for her minorit...

Sorted By: Activism

Go Back

GZLA

Kayla Harren

THE BOY WHO GREW A FOREST

March 2019, Sleeping Bear Press, 32 pp

As a boy, Jadav Payeng was distressed by the destruction deforestation and erosion was causing on his island home in India’s Brahmaputra River. So he began planting trees. What began as a small thicke...

Sorted By: Activism

Go Back

GZLA

Jessie Haas

RESCUE

April 2018, Boyds Mills, 200 pp

In this coming-of-age story perfect for horse fans, twelve-year-old animal lover Joni clashes with her new neighbor and animal rights activist Chess. Their bumpy friendship reaches a crisis when Chess...