Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Emery Lee

MEET CUTE DIARY

May 2021, Quill Tree/HarperCollins, TBD pp

In this YA romance that's FRANKLY IN LOVE meets FELIX EVER AFTER, Noah's the master of romance tropes until an internet troll forces him to write a real-life happily ever after. Noah is behind the po...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

CANDIDLY CLINE

Fall 2021, HarperCollins, TBD pp

Dumplin' meets Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World, CANDIDLY CLINE is a heartfelt MG Contemporary about one girl’s attempt to find her voice through all the changes, challenges, and heart-thumping crus...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Selina Alko

ONE GOLDEN RULE AT SCHOOL: A COUNTING BOOK

Summer 2020, Henry Holt/Macmillan, 40 pp

Award-winning creator Selina Alko's One Golden Rule at School is a charming story that's two books in one―a counting book and a school primer for little ones. Set against the familiar and dynamic back...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Kelly Quindlen

SHE DRIVES ME CRAZY

Spring 2021, Roaring Brook/Macmillan, 304 pp

From author Kelly Quindlen comes a new laugh-out-loud romp through the ups and downs of teen romance. After losing spectacularly to her ex-girlfriend in their first basketball game since their break ...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Ellen Oh

FINDING JUNIE KIM

Winter 2021, HarperCollins, TBD pp

From We Need Diverse Books cofounder Ellen Oh comes an extraordinary story about a girl who must understand her family’s past to embrace her present, finding herself along the way. Junie Kim just wan...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

LUCKY FEW

June 2016, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp)

A quirky black comedy about oddball teens facing mortality. Focused on strong friendships and madcap adventures, this is a John Hughes movie in novel form. The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets a...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

TASH HEARTS TOLSTOY

June 2017, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp

A refreshing LGBTQ+ coming-of-age novel about Internet fame, peer pressure, and YouTube. After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka suddenly finds herself...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

THE SULLIVAN SISTERS

May 2020, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp

For readers who were riveted by mysteries like SADIE by Courtney Summers and TWO CAN KEEP A SECRET by Karen McManus. The Sullivan Sisters used to be close, sharing secrets inside homemade blanket cas...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Yamile Saied Méndez

FURIA

September 2020, Algonquin/Workman Publishing, 368 pp

Camila “Furia” Hassan has a dream—to play professional fútbol. She lives in the cradle of fútbol legends, Rosario, Argentina, but Rosario only exports fútbol players of the male kind. No one believes ...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Dana Alison Levy

THE MISADVENTURES OF THE FAMILY FLETCHER

July 2014, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 260 pp

Modern Family meets modern classics like Beverly Cleary’s Quimbys and Judy Blume’s Hatchers in this heartwarming and hilarious middle grade novel. Four adopted brothers, two dads, and an ever-changing...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Dana Alison Levy

THE FAMILY FLETCHER TAKES ROCK ISLAND

May 2016, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 272 pp

Fans of The Penderwicks and other summer tales will enjoy this stand-alone companion novel to the acclaimed Misadventures of the Family Fletcher. Set on a fictional New England island, the boys, ages ...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Dana Alison Levy

THIS WOULD MAKE A GOOD STORY SOMEDAY

Spring 2017, Penguin Random House, 260 pp

Fans of Dan Santat’s Are We There Yet and Geoff Rodkey’s The Tapper Twins will enjoy this cross-country train trip of a middle grade novel. Twelve-year-old Sara loves her family, but she’s less than t...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Aida Salazar

THE MOON WITHIN

Spring 2019, Arthur A. Levine Books/Scholastic, 250 pp

This free verse middle grade novel tells the story of 11-year-old Cely, whose life swirls with questions about her changing body, her first attraction to a boy, her best friend’s exploration of what i...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

THE BEAUTY THAT REMAINS

March 2018, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 336 pp

Autumn always knew exactly who she was: a talented artist and a loyal friend. Shay was defined by two things: her bond with her twin sister and her love of music. And Logan has always turned to writin...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

FLYY GIRLS

TOBYN: THE IT GIRL

Book 4 - August 2021, Penguin Workshop/Penguin, 144 pp

Meet the Flyy Girls. The group of girls who seem like they can get away with anything. Veteran author Ashley Woodfolk pens a gorgeous and dynamic series about four Harlem highschoolers, each facing a ...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

MICAH: THE GOOD GIRL

September 2020, Penguin Workshop/Penguin, 144 pp

Micah Dupree had always liked being the “good girl.” She was happy painting, going to church, and acing her school projects. After all, she had a perfect older brother to live up to. But when he unexp...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Justin A. Reynolds

EARLY DEPARTURES

September 2020, Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins, 320 pp

Jamal’s best friend Q does not know he’s about to die . . . again. He also doesn’t know that Jamal tried to save his life, rescuing him from drowning only to watch Q die in the hospital. Even more co...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Megan Jean Sovern

THE MEANING OF MAGGIE

May 2014, Chronicle, 220 pp

Twelve-year-old Maggie lives in a house too small for all the big problems plaguing a shy girl just trying to survive adolescence armed with Little Debbies and deep thoughts. When her father’s legs p...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Josanne La Valley

THE VINE BASKET

April 2013, Clarion/HMH, 256 pp

Things aren’t looking good for fourteen-year-old Mehrigul. She yearns to be in school, but she’s needed on the family farm. The longer she’s out of school, the more likely it is that she’ll be sent of...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Josanne La Valley

FACTORY GIRL

January 2017, Clarion/HMH, 256 pp

In order to save her family’s farm, Roshen, sixteen, must leave her rural home to work in a factory in the south of China. There she finds arduous and degrading conditions and contempt for her minorit...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Stephanie Greene

SOPHIE HARTLEY SERIES

SOPHIE HARTLEY AND THE FACTS OF LIFE

Book 4 – November 2013, Clarion/HMH, 144 pp

The indomitable, quirky, passionate Sophie faces challenges and challengers with determination and resourcefulness. She does so with down-to-earth, realistic, humorous take on friendships and family r...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Kayla Harren

A BOY LIKE YOU

July 2019, Sleeping Bear Press, 32 pp

There’s more to being a boy than sports, feats of daring, and keeping a stiff upper lip. A Boy Like You encourages every boy to embrace all the things that make him unique, to be brave and ask for hel...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Kayla Harren

A GIRL LIKE YOU

July 2020, Sleeping Bear Press, 32 pp

Every girl is a wonder! A Girl Like You encourages girls to embrace what makes them unique, to choose kindness, and to be their own advocates. In an age when girls can be whatever they want, this book...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

David Kreizman

THE YEAR THEY FELL

September 2019, Imprint/Macmillan, 384 pp

In the wake of their parents’ tragic plane crash, five very different teenagers must find a way to navigate their senior year of high school and forge a new family. Josie, Jack, Archie, Harrison, and...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Jessie Haas

RESCUE

April 2018, Boyds Mills, 200 pp

In this coming-of-age story perfect for horse fans, twelve-year-old animal lover Joni clashes with her new neighbor and animal rights activist Chess. Their bumpy friendship reaches a crisis when Chess...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Kat Fajardo

MISS QUINCES

Spring 2022, Graphix/Scholastic, 180 pp

A coming-of-age middle grade graphic novel about a girl forced to celebrate her quinceañera despite hating all things pretty and pink. Suyapa “Sue” Gutierrez was planning a fun summer at camp with he...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Mike Dutton

FOOD TRUCK FEST!

March 2018, Macmillan/FSG, 40 pp

The rhyming story follows a fleet of food trucks as they get ready for the biggest and best day of the year – the food truck fest....

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Stephanie Barden

CINDERELLA SMITH SERIES

CINDERELLA SMITH: THE SUPER SECRET MYSTERY

Book 3 – April 2013, HarperCollins, TBD pp

Stephanie Barden has created a great role model for tweens. Cinderella Smith is confident, smart, and very real. Readers will love watching Cinderella conquer the problems of third-grade life, with en...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Sophie Blackall

HELLO LIGHTHOUSE

April 2018, Little, Brown/Hachette, TBD pp

Sophie Blackall’s second Caldecott Medal-winning picture book will transport readers to the seaside in timeless, nautical splendor! Watch the days and seasons pass as the wind blows, the fog rolls in,...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Tameka Fryer Brown

BROWN BABY LULLABY

Winter 2020, Farrar, Straus, and Giroux/Macmillan, TBD pp

A beautifully illustrated portrayal of parental love in a family of color. When the sun sets, it’s time for Momma, Papi, and their tired toddler to begin the evening’s routine, which includes clangin...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Nina Crews

SEEING INTO TOMORROW: HAIKU BY RICHARD WRIGHT

February 2018, Millbrook/Lerner, 32 pp

Richard Wright’s haiku put everyday moments – walking a dog, watching a sunset, finding a beetle – into focus. Now, more than fifty years after they were written, these poems continue to reflect kids’...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Arthur Salm

ANYWAY*

May 2012, Simon & Schuster, TBD pp

Max is a good kid floating in the netherworld of being not quite a teenager. A summertime interlude at a family camp allows him to re-invent himself for a week as Mad Max, a much wilder kid; he’s expe...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

THIS IS KIND OF AN EPIC LOVE STORY

October 2018, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins, 304 pp

A fluffy romantic comedy that plays with the friends-to-lovers and second-chance tropes featuring diverse LBGTQ+ teens. Nathan Bird is a film buff, but he’s a firm disbeliever in real-life happy endi...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

FELIX EVER AFTER

May 2020, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins, 368 pp

From Stonewall and Lambda Literary Award-winning author Kacen Callender comes a poignant story of identity and self-discovery, layered with romance. Felix Love has never been in love, and he’s painfu...

Sorted By: Realistic

Go Back

GZLA

Mary Amato

LUCY MCGEE SERIES

STAR ON TV, LUCY MCGEE

Book 4 – October 2020, Holiday House, 176 pp

Lucy McGee and Phillip Lee are invited to perform a song on their school’s morning show--this is their big break! First, they agree to keep it a secret from spotlight-stealing classmate Scarlett Tandy...