Madeline McGrane

Print
Go Back

GZLA

THE ACCURSED VAMPIRE: CURSE AT WITCH CAMP

February 2023, HarperCollins, 256 pp

Vampires at witch camp? What could go wrong?

It’s summertime in Baneberry Falls and Drago and their vampire pals Eztli and Quintus are heading to witch camp where they’ll learn spells and magic alongside human kids. They’ve never camped before (unless you count burrowing in the ground to avoid sunlight), but as long as their vampire pals are with them, how bad could it be?

Once there, Eztli and Quintus make fast friends with the campers, while Drago is left feeling alienated and alone. Having no use for these feelings, they ditch camp and stumble onto an abandoned miniature golf course housing a supernatural entity with sinister intentions of overtaking the camp. Drago may not like camp or the campers, but if this evil force has its way, that means their vampire buds are also in danger.

Digging deep into their soulless soul, Drago must summon the courage to face the mystical forces threatening to overtake the camp. But without their friends by their side, can they do it?


Linda Camacho


Graphic Novel

Middle Grade


Coming-of-Age

Diverse

Family

Fantasy

Friendship

Humor

LGBTQIA+

Paranormal

Supernatural


Dramatic

Translation

UK

GZLA

THE ACCURSED VAMPIRE

July 2021, HarperCollins, 176pp

A spooky and funny graphic novel debut that’s perfect for fans of Molly Knox Ostertag’s THE WITCH BOY and Kristen Gudsnuk’s MAKING FRIENDS.

Dragoslava is a vampire kid. And that’s not even the worst part. A few centuries ago, Drago was cursed, and now they must complete every task a witch gives them, or they will be turned into worms.

When the witch wants a spellbook from Baneberry Falls, Drago sets off with their immortal friends. But mysteries await in this sleepy Midwestern town, and Drago must figure out if the keepers of the spellbook have a hidden agenda, like everyone else they’ve ever known.

One thing’s for sure: after this accursed mission, Drago’s immortal life will never be the same again!

STARRED REVIEWS

SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL – “McGrane’s silly and spooky tale uses poignant moments about found families to touch readers’ hearts between bouts of laughter.”

ACCOLADES

  • Junior Library Guild Selection

DRAMATIC RIGHTS

Please contact film/TV Agent Olivia Fanaro at UTA.

NOTE: Sold in a five-house auction. Sequel coming 2023.


Linda Camacho


Graphic Novel

Middle Grade


Coming-of-Age

Diverse

Family

Fantasy

Friendship

Humor

LGBTQIA+

Paranormal

Supernatural


Dramatic

Translation

UK