Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Madeline McGrane

THE ACCURSED VAMPIRE

Summer 2021, HarperCollins, TBD pp

A spooky and funny graphic novel debut that’s perfect for fans of Molly Knox Ostertag’s THE WITCH BOY and Kristen Gudsnuk’s MAKING FRIENDS. Dragoslava is a vampire kid. And that’s not even the worst ...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Emery Lee

MEET CUTE DIARY

May 2021, Quill Tree/HarperCollins, TBD pp

In this YA romance that's FRANKLY IN LOVE meets FELIX EVER AFTER, Noah's the master of romance tropes until an internet troll forces him to write a real-life happily ever after. Noah is behind the po...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

CANDIDLY CLINE

Fall 2021, HarperCollins, TBD pp

Dumplin' meets Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World, CANDIDLY CLINE is a heartfelt MG Contemporary about one girl’s attempt to find her voice through all the changes, challenges, and heart-thumping crus...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Wendy Xu

TIDESONG

Fall 2021, HarperCollins, TBD pp

An ambitious 12-year-old moves to a seaside town for an apprenticeship in magic with her aunts and realizes that it may be more than she bargained for....

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

LUCKY FEW

June 2016, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp)

A quirky black comedy about oddball teens facing mortality. Focused on strong friendships and madcap adventures, this is a John Hughes movie in novel form. The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets a...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

TASH HEARTS TOLSTOY

June 2017, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp

A refreshing LGBTQ+ coming-of-age novel about Internet fame, peer pressure, and YouTube. After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka suddenly finds herself...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

THE GREAT UNKNOWABLE END

February 2019, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 400 pp

A humorous, lightly speculative novel for fans of “Welcome to Nightvale” with points of view from two teens with opposing beliefs who come together at what might be the end of the world in a small Ame...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

THE SULLIVAN SISTERS

May 2020, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 384 pp

For readers who were riveted by mysteries like SADIE by Courtney Summers and TWO CAN KEEP A SECRET by Karen McManus. The Sullivan Sisters used to be close, sharing secrets inside homemade blanket cas...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Yamile Saied Méndez

ON THESE MAGIC SHORES

April 2020, Tu Books/Lee & Low, 288 pp

Twelve-year-old Minerva Soledad Madrid does not believe in fairies (or peques, as mamá calls them), despite the fact that her family insists peques followed them from Argentina to the US watch over th...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Yamile Saied Méndez

FURIA

September 2020, Algonquin/Workman Publishing, 368 pp

Camila “Furia” Hassan has a dream—to play professional fútbol. She lives in the cradle of fútbol legends, Rosario, Argentina, but Rosario only exports fútbol players of the male kind. No one believes ...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Randi Pink

INTO WHITE

September 2016, Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan, 288 pp

Sixteen-year-old Latoya Williams, who is black, attends a mostly white high school in the Alabama. In a moment of desperation, she prays for the power to change her race and wakes up white. Randi Pink...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Randi Pink

ANGEL OF GREENWOOD

January 2021, Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan, TBD pp

ANGEL OF GREENWOOD is a historical fiction novel set in the Tulsa, Oklahoma neighborhood of Greenwood, affectionately known as Black Wall Street, in which sixteen-year-old Angel and seventeen-year-old...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

THE BEAUTY THAT REMAINS

March 2018, Delacorte/Penguin Random House, 336 pp

Autumn always knew exactly who she was: a talented artist and a loyal friend. Shay was defined by two things: her bond with her twin sister and her love of music. And Logan has always turned to writin...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

FLYY GIRLS

TOBYN: THE IT GIRL

Book 4 - August 2021, Penguin Workshop/Penguin, 144 pp

Meet the Flyy Girls. The group of girls who seem like they can get away with anything. Veteran author Ashley Woodfolk pens a gorgeous and dynamic series about four Harlem highschoolers, each facing a ...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Ashley Woodfolk

MICAH: THE GOOD GIRL

September 2020, Penguin Workshop/Penguin, 144 pp

Micah Dupree had always liked being the “good girl.” She was happy painting, going to church, and acing her school projects. After all, she had a perfect older brother to live up to. But when he unexp...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Randy Ribay

PATRON SAINTS OF NOTHING

June 2019, Kokila/Penguin Random House, 304 pp

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder. Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kelly Quindlen

LATE TO THE PARTY

April 2020, Roaring Brook/Macmillan, 304 pp

A story of friendship and first love, featuring a diverse cast of LGBTQ+ characters. Codi wants to score her first kiss—with a girl—but she may have to expand her social world first. Can she fall in ...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Janel Kolby

WINTERFOLK

February 2018, HarperTeen/HarperCollins, 320 pp

A modern-day fairytale, gritty and lyrical, this is a debut about a young homeless girl who ventures into the city for the first time since childhood in order to save her community. For as long as sh...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Mary E. Lambert

FAMILY GAME NIGHT AND OTHER CATASTROPHES

February 2017, Scholastic, 256 pp

A novel about throwing things out -- and letting people in. Annabelle has a secret so big she won’t allow friends within five miles of her home. Her mom collects things. Their house is overflowing wi...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Jessie Haas

RESCUE

April 2018, Boyds Mills, 200 pp

In this coming-of-age story perfect for horse fans, twelve-year-old animal lover Joni clashes with her new neighbor and animal rights activist Chess. Their bumpy friendship reaches a crisis when Chess...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kat Fajardo

MISS QUINCES

Spring 2022, Graphix/Scholastic, 180 pp

A coming-of-age middle grade graphic novel about a girl forced to celebrate her quinceañera despite hating all things pretty and pink. Suyapa “Sue” Gutierrez was planning a fun summer at camp with he...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Arthur Salm

ANYWAY*

May 2012, Simon & Schuster, TBD pp

Max is a good kid floating in the netherworld of being not quite a teenager. A summertime interlude at a family camp allows him to re-invent himself for a week as Mad Max, a much wilder kid; he’s expe...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

HURRICANE CHILD

March 2018, Scholastic, 224 pp

A lyrical, debut middle grade novel with a touch of magical realism and LGBTQ+ themes, about first friendship, first love, and finding self-acceptance. 12-year-old Caroline Murphy is a Hurricane Chil...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

THIS IS KIND OF AN EPIC LOVE STORY

October 2018, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins, 304 pp

A fluffy romantic comedy that plays with the friends-to-lovers and second-chance tropes featuring diverse LBGTQ+ teens. Nathan Bird is a film buff, but he’s a firm disbeliever in real-life happy endi...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

KING AND THE DRAGONFLIES

February 2020, Scholastic, 272 pp

From the Stonewall and Lambda Book Award-winning author of Hurricane Child comes a novel about loss, grief, and finding the courage to discover one’s identity. Twelve-year-old Kingston James is sure ...

Sorted By: Coming-of-Age

Go Back

GZLA

Kacen Callender

FELIX EVER AFTER

May 2020, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins, 368 pp

From Stonewall and Lambda Literary Award-winning author Kacen Callender comes a poignant story of identity and self-discovery, layered with romance. Felix Love has never been in love, and he’s painfu...