Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Amparo Ortiz

DRAGONBLOOD RING (Blazewrath #2)

October 2021, Page Street Kids, 320 pp

After the Sire’s capture, teen athletes Lana Torres and Victoria Peralta travel to Puerto Rico with their former Blazewrath team. While Lana discovers her roots, nothing fills the void Blazewrath’s ca...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Mimi Yu

Empress of Flames

August 2021, Gollancz/Hachette UK, 496 pp

As the late-Emperor's first-born, Princess Lu knows the throne rightfully belongs to her. She also can't forget her promise to shapeshifter Nok, the boy she loves, to win justice for his now powerless...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Kathryn Ormsbee

The House in Poplar Wood

August 2018, Chronicle Books, 344 pp

Simultaneously heartwarming and delightfully spooky, The House in Poplar Wood is a story about a boy's desire to be free, a girl's desire to make a difference, and a family's desire to be together aga...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Madeline McGrane

THE ACCURSED VAMPIRE

July 2021, HarperCollins, 176pp

A spooky and funny graphic novel debut that’s perfect for fans of Molly Knox Ostertag’s THE WITCH BOY and Kristen Gudsnuk’s MAKING FRIENDS. Dragoslava is a vampire kid. And that’s not even the worst ...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Wendy Xu

TIDESONG

November 2021, HarperCollins, 240pp

An ambitious 12-year-old moves to a seaside town for an apprenticeship in magic with her aunts and realizes that it may be more than she bargained for....

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Kat Cho

VICIOUS SPIRITS

August 2020, Putnam/Penguin, 416 pp

Miyoung and Jihoon are picking up the pieces of their broken lives following the deaths of Miyoung’s mother, Yena, and Jihoon’s grandmother. The events at the end of Wicked Fox have upended the forces...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Kat Cho

WICKED FOX

June 2019, Putnam/Penguin, 448 pp

An addictive fantasy-romance set in modern-day Seoul. Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a nine-tailed fox who must devour the energy of men in order to survive. Because so fe...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Suzanne Weyn

THIEF EYES

Spring 2010, Random House, 272 pp

After her mother mysteriously disappears, sixteen-year-old Haley convinces her father to take her to Iceland, where her mother was last seen. There, amidst the ancient fissures and crevices of that vo...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Betty G. Birney

OG THE FROG SERIES

WILDLIFE ACCORDING TO OG THE FROG

Book 3 – May 2020, Putnam/Penguin, 144 pp

In the third book in the spinoff of the Humphrey series, Og and Humphrey head to summer camp to see what’s hopping in the wilderness! Og didn’t know where he would end up when school was over, but it...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Betty G. Birney

HUMPHREY SERIES

SPRING ACCORDING TO HUMPHREY

Book 12 – January 2016, Putnam/Penguin, 160 pp

Join Humphrey, the classroom hamster, as he navigates the wilds of school with the students of Room 26. Each book is a funny and unique look at life from the perspective of an adorable and caring cla...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Suzanne Weyn

INVISIBLE WORLD

August 2012, Scholastic, 240 pp

For 15-year-old Sarah Owen, having a scientist father is a blessing and a curse. He doesn’t bat an eye at her psychic abilities, since he researches them; and she knows more about the invisible worlds...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Suzanne Weyn

THE BAR CODE PROPHECY

October 2013, Scholastic, 208 pp

The third book in the Bar Code series, in which one girl struggles to escape the conformity of a dystopian world. Grace lives a normal life. She goes to school during the day and works part-time at th...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Suzanne Weyn

DR. FRANKENSTEIN’S DAUGHTERS

January 2013, Scholastic, 250 pp

Giselle and Ingrid are the twin daughters of Doctor Victor Frankenstein, but they are very different people, and when they inherit his castle in the Orkney Islands, Giselle dreams of holding parties a...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Hilary Wagner

NIGHTSHADE CHRONICLES

LORDS OF TRILLIUM

Book 3 – March 2014, Holiday House, 250 pp

Deep beneath a modern metropolis lies the Catacombs, a kingdom of remarkable rats of superior intellect. Following the Bloody Coup, the once peaceful democracy has become a dictatorship, ruled by deca...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Ellen Oh

THE DRAGON KING CHRONICLES

KING

Book 3 – December 2014, HarperCollins/HarperTeen, 288 pp

This thrilling and romantic conclusion to the Prophecy series brings Kira her final quest. Kira, once an outcast in her home village of Hansong, is now the only one with the power to save her kingdom....

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Ellen Oh

THE DRAGON EGG PRINCESS

March 2020, HarperCollins, 256 pp

A must-have middle grade novel perfect for fans of the Wing & Claw series by Linda Sue Park. In a kingdom filled with magic, Jiho Park and his family are an anomaly—magic doesn’t affect them. Jiho co...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Janni Lee Simner

BONES OF FAERIE SERIES

FAERIE AFTER

Book 3 – May 2013, Random House, 272 pp

Janni Lee Simner’s young adult novels are a dark fairy-tale twist on apocalyptic fiction, as familiar as a nightmare, yet altogether unique. The three books in the Bones of Faerie series take readers...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Suzanne Walker / Wendy Xu

MOONCAKES

Fall 2019, Lion Forge, 256 pp

A story of love and demons, family and witchcraft. Nova Huang knows more about magic than your average teen witch. She works at her grandmothers’ bookshop, where she helps them loan out spell books a...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Shveta Thakrar

STAR DAUGHTER

August 2020, Harperteen/HarperCollins, 448 pp

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Her mother returned to the constellation Pushya when Sheetal was just a child, and since then, Sheetal has hidden her true iden...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Amparo Ortiz

BLAZEWRATH GAMES

October 2020, Page Street Kids, 368 pp

Lana Torres has always preferred dragons to people. In a few weeks, sixteen countries will compete in the Blazewrath World Cup, a tournament where dragons and their riders fight for glory in a dangero...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Kristin Kladstrup

THE BOOK OF STORY BEGINNINGS

March 2006, Candlewick, 368 pp

This wonderfully transporting fantasy - featuring a ship full of orphaned pirate children, a pair of warring royals, and plenty of magic potions - is sure to thrill all those who dare turn its pages....

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Kristin Kladstrup

GARDEN PRINCESS

March 2013, Candlewick, 272 pp

Dig in to this middle-grade fantasy featuring a horticulturally-minded princess, a beautiful but evil witch, and a magpie with a shameful secret....

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Kristin Kladstrup

NUTCRACKER MICE

October 2017, Candlewick, 336 pp

Hidden in Saint Petersburg’s famed Mariinsky Theater are the world’s tiniest ballet fans: the Mariinsky mice, including Esmeralda, a rising dancer in the Russian Mouse Ballet Company. Despite being un...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Carolyn Hennesy

MYTHIC MISADVENTURES SERIES

PANDORA GETS FRIGHTENED

Book 7 – July 2013, Bloomsburg, 288 pp

Mythic Misadventures series in which Pandora tries to recapture all the great evils of the world and return them to the infamous box....

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Jeanne DuPrau

CITY OF EMBER SERIES

THE CITY OF EMBER

May 2003, Random House, 288 pp

City of Ember Series...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Jeanne DuPrau

THE CITY OF EMBER: THE GRAPHIC NOVEL

September 2012, Random House, 144 pp

Experience Jeanne DuPrau’s vision anew as artist Niklas Asker faithfully brings to life the glare of lamps, the dinginess of the streets, and the brilliance of the first sunrise....

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Paige Britt

THE LOST TRACK OF TIME

March 2015, Scholastic, 320 pp

Penelope longs to be a writer, but her mother won’t allow it—scribbling in your notebook all day is a complete waste of time! One morning, a strange hole opens up in her otherwise busy schedule, and s...

Sorted By: Fantasy

Go Back

GZLA

Shakirah Bourne

JOSEPHINE AGAINST THE SEA

July 2021, Scholastic, 304 pp

The Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste meets R.L.Stine’s The Girl Who Cried Monster. 11 year-old Jo discovers that her Dad’s new girlfriend is a powerful sea creature and has to convince everyone of the woma...