Wendy Xu

Print
Go Back

GZLA

TIDESONG

November 2021, HarperCollins, 240pp

Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and The Tea Dragon Society, this is a magically heartwarming graphic novel about self-acceptance and friendship.

Growing up as a young witch, Sophie knows her family expects her to attend the best magic school. She is sent to train with relatives she’s never met, but instead of learning spells, she has to do chores.

When a frustrated Sophie tries to do magic on her own, she accidentally entangles her magic with that of a water dragon named Lir, stranding him on land without his memories. Lir is powerful, and Sophie could harness his magic to ace her entrance exam—even if it means working against Lir’s attempts to return to his home. In this solo debut from award-nominated artist Wendy Xu, young witch Sophie must decide—what kind of person does she want to be?

DRAMATIC RIGHTS

Please contact Wendy’s Film/TV agent: Mary Pender-Coplan (UTA)

NOTE: Sold in a preempt. Two more graphic novels under contract.


Linda Camacho


Graphic Novel

Middle Grade


Coming-of-Age

Commercial

Contemporary

Diverse

Family

Fantasy

Friendship

Nature

Speculative

Supernatural


Dramatic

Translation

UK


GZLA

MOONCAKES

Fall 2019, Lion Forge, 256 pp

A story of love and demons, family and witchcraft.

Nova Huang knows more about magic than your average teen witch. She works at her grandmothers’ bookshop, where she helps them loan out spell books and investigate any supernatural occurrences in their New England town. One fateful night, she follows reports of a white wolf into the woods, and she comes across the unexpected: her childhood crush, Tam Lang, battling a horse demon in the woods. As a werewolf, Tam has been wandering from place to place for years, unable to call any town home. Pursued by dark forces eager to claim the magic of wolves and out of options, Tam turns to Nova for help. Their latent feelings are rekindled against the backdrop of witchcraft, untested magic, occult rituals, and family ties both new and old in this enchanting tale of self-discovery.

STARRED REVIEWS

SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL – “Xu and Walker have created a charming, magical tale…[Tam and Nova’s] shared identities (they are both Chinese American and queer) are integral to their characters; Tam’s nonbinary identity and Nova’s hearing impairment are similarly authentic…This sweet, spellbinding story will appeal to fans of magic and romance.”

ACCOLADES

  • 2020 Hugo Award finalist for Best Graphic Story or Comic

INTERNATIONAL RIGHTS

SpanishEdiciones Urano


Linda Camacho


Graphic Novel

Young Adult


Diverse

Fantasy

Graphic Novel

LGBTQIA+

Supernatural


Translation